Christmas Begins

Posted: 24 Dec 11 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I’m about to head out the door to what will start my Christmas festivities.  This year isn’t like others for me.  I’m excited, but it still doesn’t seem like it’s Christmas.  Maybe it’s because it’s 50 degrees outside, and I expect Christmas to be much colder.  Maybe it’s because this year will be the first year (excluding my two years in Iraq during Christmas) I’m not waking up in my parents’ house to see what’s under the tree and what Santa brought me and my siblings, which then turned into my nieces and nephews.  I’m not really sure what it is, but something seems off.

Either way, I am still excited.  I look forward to seeing people open their gifts, and I (selfishly) look forward to opening mine.  I look forward to waking up tomorrow morning in my house with my girlfriend, and celebrating our first Christmas together in our home.  Tonight, I go to see my mom’s family that I typically only see once a year, then over to Brittany’s grandparents’ house.  I’ll take a great picture of my seven nieces and nephews for my mom, and that will be great.  Tomorrow will have more traveling and visiting, and hopefully a pause to stop at the cemetery and wish my dad a Merry Christmas.

Above all, I look forward to wishing Jesus a Happy Birthday, as that’s what we’re really celebrating by Christmas.

I hope anyone reading (and all those who aren’t) have a wonderful Christmas, and stay safe.  Even if things seem a bit off, it’s a great time to see family and friends!

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

