Back to it

Posted: 02 Jan 12 in CrossFit
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I don’t know if I should blame it on the partying for the New Year, or what, but I was slacking.  We had a pretty good bringing in of the New Year, spent the evening with some close friends, and I drank a little too much.  It caused a little bit of friction between me and Brittany, but we had a great time overall.

New Year’s day was spent recovering, if you will.  We did play some of the sports games on the Playstation Move, I received for Christmas, and that was kind of a way to get a little fitness in.  It was mainly just fun.  She kicked my butt in the gladiator game!  I couldn’t believe it, but I beat her in table tennis (why does that not read very manly?).

New year’s was also a rest day for Crossfit.

Today was back to it with the Crossfit WOD.  The WOD was 3 sets of 21, 15, then 9 reps of two exercises: pull-ups and thrusters.  As you’ve seen so far, I have to do weight assisted pull-ups.  The thruster is a squat with a press in the up position.  The website asked for 95 lb., I did 45 lb., just the bar.  This WOD was supposed to be done for time.  My pull-ups were done at 135 lb. (I think, the machine doesn’t read very well) with a wide grip.  I completed the round in 7:39.  This was terribly slow, but here it is five hours after doing my workout, and my thighs are already sore, so that’s great news, I think.

To go along with the WOD, I’m starting my training for the KY Derby Mini-Marathon.  Today, for a light warm-up, I ran a mile, at an 8:00 pace, so that was good.  I’ll be following the running program by Hal Higdon starting next week.

Leave a Reply

