Back to the Grind!

Posted: 10 Jan 12 in CrossFit
Tags: , , , , , ,

I took a couple of days off, which I’m noticing seems to keep happening around the weekends.  I need to stop doing that!  I’m on a training schedule for the KY Derby Mini-Marathon, so that should help me keep doing something during the weekend.

Speaking of the training schedule, I did a three-mile run today, in 26:50.  Not super fast, but, it was good enough, especially since I’ve only been doing some mile runs here and there.

I also did the Crossfit WOD.  Today’s WOD consisted of two muscle-ups, four handstand push-ups, and eight two pood kettlebell swings.  I still don’t have the strength to do a muscle up, so I substituted one pull-up and one dip for each.  I also can’t do a handstand push-ups, so I did the recommended substitution of kettlebell push presses (I used two 30 lb. kettlebells, for a total of 60 lb.).  I have no idea what a “pood” is, so I used the 30 lb. kettlebell for the swings also.  It was an AMRAP in 20 minutes.

I completed seven rounds.  What made me really happy about this was that I didn’t use the weight assisted pull-up machine.  That’s quite an accomplishment for me!

So, three miles, and seven rounds of the WOD today, not too bad for a little fat guy.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

